Upcoming Meetings
& Events
President's Message
Membership Info
Inspirational Gardens
Volunteer Opportunities
Members Only
Speakers Bureau
Bloom Calendar
Practical Reference
GPPA Sponsors
Book Reviews
Links of Interest
Past Events
& Symposia
Contact Us

Click the following links to support GPPA by shopping at:
Brent & Becky's Bulbs

©2015 by GPPA
All Rights Reserved

President's Message


Dorothy Dowell
GPPA President 2015

President's Message

Welcome to the Georgia Perennial Plant Association's website! If this is your first visit, I hope it will be the first of many. If you’ve been to the website before, I hope you’ll take this opportunity to visit a new area!

As an organization, Georgia Perennial Plant Association (GPPA) is dedicated to sharing knowledge about perennial plants, with a particular focus on those which do best in Georgia. Our membership ranges from brand new home gardeners to nationally-recognized leaders in the horticultural world.

Please explore the website to learn more about our activities. We host monthly programs (open to the public) at the Atlanta History Center, offer a number of smaller "hands on" programs at various times during the year, and also co-host “The Inspired Gardener” Symposium each February with the Atlanta Botanical Garden.

Also on the website, there are book reviews and articles excerpted from Perennial Notes, our quarterly member newsletter. A subscription to Perennial Notes, discounts at a number of local businesses, and other discounted and special programs are all benefits of membership in the organization.

I would encourage you to visit one of our monthly programs, typically held the third Tuesday evening of each month, or to contact me to find out more about becoming involved in GPPA.

Dorothy Dowell
GPPA President


GPPA Past Presidents

1987-88 Bill Funkhouser, founder
1989-90 Phil Colson
1991-92 Barbara Allen
1993-94 Sam Jones
1995-96 Sandra Sandefur
1997-98 Jim Harrington
1999-2000 Paula Refi
2001-02 Karin Guzy
2003-04 Lyndy Broder
2005-08 Sara Henderson
2009-10 Anne Briley Sheldon
2011-12 Patricia Collins
2013-14 Tim Martin